Have you ever found yourself craving something sweet and you want it sooner than later? You rummage through the cabinets and the fridge to realize you need to run to the store in order to make something good. Well, never fear, this recipe will solve your sugar-craving needs. You will find most of these ingredients are already in your kitchen.

I never ate this dessert, that I can remember, as a child, probably because I thought the word custard sounded gross. I can’t even remember the first time I ate it either, but when I do eat it, I think to the first time I ate it at my mother-in-law’s house. This would be a comfort food for me because it makes me happy and reminds me of my close connection with Brandon’s family. This recipe is from his mother’s collections. She published it a church cookbook, so I know she won’t mind me sharing with you.

Crustless Egg Custard

1 cup sugar
3 eggs
3 tsp flour
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients and mix with a blender. Pour into a greased and floured 9 inch pie plate. Bake for 30 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean.

20140303-142501.jpg

We ate most of the custard before I got a picture. It was that good. 🙂 So, I took a picture of one of the last pieces left. The best part of this dessert is you can eat it cold or warm. I prefer warm, especially fresh out of the oven after it has been slightly cooled and firm.

Note: When mixing ingredients, slowly add the eggs at the end while blending/stirring to prevent a scrambled egg pie.

