February 19 was my grandmother’s birthday. She would be 88 years old. I was close to my grandmother because she came to live with us when I was 12. Before that, she lived within walking distance of my house. She passed away almost eight years ago. This post is in memory of her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This picture is of my grandmother and me.  I have this picture resting on a shelf in my living room along with my other grandparents and Brandon’s grandparents.  I glance at her picture often and it always brings memories of her being in the kitchen.

I have fond memories of her Beef Vegetable Soup. I don’t remember much about her cooking it, but I do remember eating and enjoying her soup with a peanut butter sandwich. My mom likes to make this soup often. My parents like to adjust the ingredients, depending on what ingredients they have on hand. I guess it’s just a comfort food for all of us that brings back loving memories with each bite.

I suggest you try this recipe out and make your own memories and family traditions. For the recipe:

  • 2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 2 cans Veg-All
  • 1 large can tomato juice
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • chopped fresh vegetables (we used 2 baked potatoes, chopped into small chunks)
  • 5 beef bouillon cubes
  • salt and pepper to taste

In Dutch Oven, brown ground beef with onion. Drain fat. Add Veg-All with juice, tomato juice, chopped vegetables, and beef bouillon cubes. Bring to a boil. Turn to low and cover. Cook for one hour. Stir to prevent sticking. Season with salt and pepper.

20140218-184313.jpg

Serve with your favorite sandwich. Brandon prefers grilled cheese, but I love to eat peanut butter and honey sandwich with my soup.

