This is a recipe that I have been wanting to try for a while.  I had pinned this recipe on Pinterest, but never got around to do it until today.  I chose to make this recipe now because I had a friend who had some leftovers, like a tray of fruit, from a party that she hosted last weekend.  I hate to throw away food and let it waste, so I offered to take it home with me. The tray that was left over had sliced apples and grapes.  I was excited because I remembered about this recipe and I knew I had most of the other ingredients in the cabinets.  Plus, I wouldn’t have to do much since it was already sliced except just throw it together.

This salad has several things going for it.  I love the flavors of the walnuts mixed with the sweet yogurt and grapes.  I found the recipe on Tasty Kitchen.  For the ingredients, all you need is vanilla yogurt, granulated sugar, brown sugar, Mayonnaise, juice from 1/2 a lemon, ground cinnamon, apples, pear, celery, silvered almonds, walnuts, and seedless grapes. The first 6 ingredients make the dressing and the last 6 ingredients make the salad.  So simple!  I really love the recipe’s website because you can key how many servings you need and they will adjust the amounts you need.

I did slightly adjust the recipe for various reasons.  We omitted the pear and celery. Brandon hates celery, which makes me a little sad because I enjoy celery diced and mixed in dishes.  However, I don’t feel we were deprived by not having those ingredients.  I also only used 2 types of apples instead of 4 like suggested and that was because the tray only had green and red apples.  I added raisins to the salad that had been soaking in water for about 20 minutes because there was only a palm full of grapes in the tray and we knew that would not be enough.

So, if you are looking for a tasty way to get in your fruits for the day, then in would highly recommend this salad. You will not be disappointed!

20140215-222010.jpg

