This is my first attempt to cook Chili. It’s sad that I have been married for 3 years and this is my first time to make it. Honestly, I am not even a big fan of Chili, but I ate a bowl at work a couple of weeks ago and it was really good. So, I decided I wanted to make it. I used a different recipe than what I ate at work because of what I had available in my cabinets. And, I have to tell you, I really like this recipe.

I found this recipe in the same church cookbook as the previous recipes that I posted. I like this recipe because even though there are only a few ingredients, it does not slack in flavor. It was so simple to throw everything together and let it cook. I used my red Dutch Oven to cook the Chili. My Dutch Oven makes me happy because there is easy clean up and I love that color. Since there are only 2 of us, we had a lot leftover. I decided to keep a large container and give one away. You can also freeze the Chili in an air-tight container or ziplock bag.

I only changed a couple of ingredients from the recipe below. I only used 1 bell pepper because that’s all I had available. I also only chopped half of an onion because I the onion was really large and half of it was plenty for us. Next time, I think I will use only 1 package of the chili seasoning because it was spicier near the bottom of the bowl.

For the recipe:

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 packages chili seasoning mix
  • 1 tall can tomato juice
  • 2 cans kidney beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • In a large pot, brown hamburger meat with peppers and onions. Drain off fat. Add seasoning mix, tomato juice, beans, and tomatoes. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes to an hour.

    20140215-222500.jpg

    Now, serve up a bowl with a grilled cheese and enjoy.

