For all of you brownie lovers out there, this brownie recipe is the best I have ever tried and made. They are thick, extra chocolaty, and crunchy.  They are so delicious straight out of the oven and even a few days after baking them.

I also made this dessert for the Bible Conference a couple of weeks ago, as I mentioned earlier in this post.  Since I didn’t get a bite of the brownies and everyone seemed to enjoy it so much, I also made it yesterday for Thanksgiving.  However, I do not have a picture from yesterday. But, believe me, I ate several bites of those brownies and we still have a few left.

I am actually eating a square for breakfast as I am writing this to you. Yes, I can and will eat desserts for breakfast, especially cheesecake. I know you are curious how these brownies taste since they look so good, so let me try to describe. When you bite into the brownie, you get that strong chocolate flavor. That flavor is paired with the texture of the soft brownie shell and the hard bite of the chocolate bar (since my brownie is cold). Finally, the walnuts provide that nice crunch along with a nutty taste that helps break up that rich chocolate flavor. You should definitely eat a piece of this brownie when it comes straight out of the oven. You will fall in love the first moment that chocolate goodness touches your tongue.

This recipe came from a local church’s cookbook. Every time I eat a piece of these brownies, I always think about our trip to Birmingham because here was the first time I tried the brownies. When I was shown this recipe by my mother-in-law, I knew this cookbook would be used frequently. I have a big tab marker in my cookbook for this recipe. Now to show you the recipe:

  • 1 box brownie mix (13×9 pkg)
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 3 large Symphony candy bars (with toffee and almonds)
  • Line 13×9 inch pan with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray. Make brownie mix according to package directions. Add walnuts to brownie batter. Pour half of mix on bottom of pan. Place 3 candy bars on top of mix. (You may have to break a few pieces off of the candy bars to get them to lay flat in the pan.) Pour rest of batter on top of candy bars and smooth out. Bake according to box instructions. Let cool completely before cutting.

    Symphony Brownies

    Symphony Brownies

    FYI – If you prepare this recipe exactly like the instructions above, your brownies will not look like my picture. That is because I made a few mistakes when purchasing my ingredients and preparing the batter. If you happen to get the brownie mix that is for an 8×8 (like I did), do not worry because 2 candy bars will fit exactly in the smaller pan. If you happen to forget to add walnuts to the batter (like I did), then just add them to the top of the batter after you pour it in the pan. This part will also be helpful if you are carrying this dessert where people may have nut allergies. Plus, I think the brownies look pretty with the walnuts on top.

