This dessert has been referred to as a dessert to put diabetics into a coma.  I use to follow the instructions exactly as written, but now I do not add as much sugar as the recipe suggests since both my parents and one of Brandon’s parents are diabetics.  Even though I post several recipes about desserts, I usually don’t eat desserts often unless we have them in the house.  I much prefer to make desserts and give them away.  Out of sight, out of mind. 🙂

When I think back to when I started cooking as a teenager, this dessert always come to mind.  I didn’t make it often, but anytime I tried to impress someone with a dessert I would find this recipe.  I found the dessert in an older cookbook from a local church and it was written by one of my cousins.  By the way, the best recipes can be found from church cookbooks.  Those people know how to cook!  I have carried this dish to church, family gatherings, and given as a gift.  One time while we were dating, I made it for Brandon’s birthday.  The only thing better than the Blueberry Crunch is a slice of blueberry cheesecake from Chick-fil-a.

I made the Blueberry Crunch as my last dessert for the Bible Conference.  Just like the other desserts I made for the conference, I didn’t get a taste of it.  But, the good news is everyone loved it because it was all gone.  I even made it in a throw-away pan so I wouldn’t have to worry about clean up or taking a dish home.  The best part of this dessert is the taste of the sugary-sweet cream mixture paired with the tart blueberries and the salty, crunchy crust.  You will also love how quick and simple this recipe is.  I know I do!  For the recipe:

  • 2 cups self-rising flour
  • 2 sticks butter, melted
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 box confectioners sugar
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 can blueberry pie filling
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 8 0z. Cool Whip

Mix flour, melted butter, and chopped nuts.  Press in 9×13 pan. Brown at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until light brown.  Cool completely.

Mix sugar, cream cheese, vanilla, and butter.  Spread on cooled crust.  Put a layer of cool whip on top of the cream mixture.  Top with a layer of blueberry pie filling.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

20131130-181854.jpg

How simple is that?! I love that you can make this ahead of time.  I am sure you can use real blueberries in replace for pie filling.  It would probably lessen the sugar levels of each bite.  Also, as I mentioned earlier in this post, I did not use the whole box of powdered sugar.  I probably used about half the bag of sugar.  So, now all you need to do is prepare it, cut it up, and enjoy the comments of how awesome you are for making it.

