20131027-213030.jpg

I made this dessert Thursday night and I posted it on Facebook and Instagram. I had some people to take interest and want the recipe, so I am happy to share it.

This recipe is one of those throw-it-together-at-the-last-minute creations. We had eaten dinner Thursday night and I was still hungry, but I had a sweet craving. It happens a lot in this household, especially for me since I’ve been married. The inspiration behind this recipe was a single apple given to me by someone at work. Have you ever known of a recipe that uses one piece of fruit? Not this girl. So, I do what I do best – I went to Pinterest. And, you know, it is hard to find a recipe for one apple. I found several for 3 apples, but very few for one. But, after a couple of minutes of searching, I found this recipe that only had 4 ingredients and didn’t take long to cook. You will need to scroll down the page for the recipe called Apple Pie Bites.

All you need for this simple dessert is 1 apple, 1 can of crescent rolls, and a pinch of cinnamon and sugar. I am not exactly sure how much of a pinch of cinnamon and sugar that you should add, but I know I pinched a good bit on each roll and I felt it could use a little more flavor. But, that is your preference because I am a lover of cinnamon and I love that strong flavor.  The recipe calls for apple slices, but I chose to chop my apple.  The reason is my apple slices were not pretty nor evenly sliced, therefore the chopped apples were more appealing and easier to eat with a spoon.  I also ended up with more slices than crescent rolls and I hate to waste food, but I had almost exactly the same amount of chopped apples on each crescent roll.

These are what the bites look like.

20131027-212926.jpg

You can eat these bites by themselves.  You can even eat them for breakfast.  Too bad we don’t have any left or I know what I would be having for breakfast in the morning.  However, I chose to enhance the dessert because I already had the pudding and caramel syrup in the refrigerator.  For the pudding, I used JELL-O Cheesecake Pudding and followed the directions on the box, which was 2 cups of cold milk whisked with the pudding mix for 2 minutes.  The caramel syrup was Smucker’s Sugar Free Caramel Sundae Syrup. I was a little uncertain about this sugar free caramel syrup, but this has a really good sweet flavor.  I think it gives this recipe a little something extra.

Once the apple pie bites were finished, I grabbed 2 glass bowls, the pudding, and caramel syrup.  I layered the pudding on the bottom and topped it with the apple pie bites and caramel.  I believe my favorite part of this dish was the mixture of the cold pudding and caramel with the warm apple pie bites.  For Brandon, I served this dessert with a cup of hot chocolate, as you can tell in the picture below.

20131027-213213.jpg

