Tomorrow is my cousin’s birthday. This post is dedicated to him. It’s hard to believe that Hall will be 18 and that he’s been in my life for 18 years. I am blessed to have him and his sister in my life and I wouldn’t want it any other way. Here is a picture of Hall and I from a few Christmases ago.

20130922-222211.jpg
Hall is one of those kids who only wants money or gift cards as a present. Well, I wanted to do give him something that I know he would enjoy. And, he definitely enjoys food. So, I decided to make him miniature Boston Cream Pies. I made these a while back for a Christmas party and I remembered how much Hall loved eating them. They are very easy to make, but it just takes several steps to get to the final product. For the recipe, click here.

The only thing I did different was I used white chocolate pudding mix instead of vanilla because we didn’t have any vanilla in the kitchen. I placed the mini pies into a plastic container as I spread on the creamy center and chocolate top. It made it so much easier because the pudding mixture oozes out of the sides and it takes several minutes for the chocolate to harden.
20130922-223730.jpg
I want to say a special thank you to my neighbor, Karla, who let me borrow her cupcake pan so I would not have to cook and clean my pan twice. It definitely helped to cut my time in half. I need to put an extra cupcake pan on my wish list.

I had a few left over, so I shared some with Karla and we enjoyed the rest.
20130922-224201.jpg
It somewhat reminds me of a chocolate eclair. The center is not as sweet as an eclair, but it is a great partner with the chocolate top.

As soon as the mini pies were finished, I packed them up and carried them to Hall. He didn’t know I was making them, but he was very excited when I showed up with the container. I even got a hug from him. I hope he enjoyed them as much as I enjoyed making them. And, hopefully, he shared with his family since I gave him 15 cupcakes.

