One reason I am grateful for living in the South is for our strong Christian faith. Yes, we live in the Bible Belt and I enjoy being able to worship in my church freely. We believe in the KJV Bible and we believe in prayer. We attend a fairly large church. I am not sure of the actual number, but most of the time when our church has service, it is full and when we have special services, we are extra full.  You can check out our church here

We are Baptists.  Brandon and I have grown up in Baptist churches.  And, there is one thing that we know to be true…Baptists LOVE to eat and fellowship and fellowship and eat, especially at our church.  Also, Southern Baptist ladies know how to cook! For most special occasions, we have a meal that follows a service. Today was an example of a special service because we celebrated our church’s Homecoming.  We had The Phillips Family to lead the worship with southern gospel singing and their father, Bro. Clifford Phillips, brought our sermon.  We were blessed to have them with us.  After the service, we all were dismissed to the new fellowship hall for lunch.  We had so much food that the men had to bring out extra tables for the main food and all the desserts covered the bar.

20130916-202639.jpg 20130916-202650.jpg

These pictures shown above are courtesy of Unity Baptist Church.

Here are a few things that we took for the meal.
Image

The first picture is The Pioneer Woman’s cornbread.  I posted about it a few days ago.  You can find the recipe here.  The link for the post is here.  I decided to cut it up in smaller bites, so more people would be able to enjoy it.

The other top picture is “Betty Crocker Suddenly Pasta Salad: Ranch & Bacon”.  This pasta is just straight from the box.  I did not add anything extra to it.  Sometimes I will mix in bacon bits, but I was running low on my bacon bit stash today.

The bottom picture is a simple Green Bean Casserole.  We got this recipe from the “Martha Goolsby Friends and Family Cookbook”.  I bought this cookbook a year or so ago.  A lady from our town created this cookbook of her and her friends’ recipes and proceeds were given to the local My Choices Pregnancy Center.  The recipe is similar to the one on the back of French’s French Fried Onions box and I’m sure the recipe is on some website, but just so you don’t have to search for it, I am posting it below.  The only things that we did different are we added Cut Green Beans instead of French Style and we cooked the casserole for 15 minutes instead of 20 minutes.

 

 

Green Bean Casserole

2 cans French style green beans
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)
1 can French Fried Onions

Drain beans, heat soup and milk together.  Mix with beans and add 1/2 can of fried onions.  Pour into 8×8 square casserole dish and bake 300 degrees for 20 minutes.  Crumble rest of onions on top of casserole and return to oven for 5 minutes. 

We prepared this the night before.  All you have to do is follow the recipe by mixing the cream of mushroom, milk, and beans.  We mixed in the onions the next morning and continued along the recipe.

 

I want to say how blessed I am and how I love my sweet husband.  He helped me get all this together last night and this morning.  He cooked the pasta salad last night as I prepared the casserole.  Then, this morning he finished the casserole while I got ready and he has always been my flipper for my cornbread.  He does such a great job with that. 🙂  I am so glad God brought us together.  Since the church is not having Sunday night services, we are going to enjoy a night of Sunday Night Football and eat leftovers.

