It all started with a boy and a girl who fell in love. Brandon has always loved food, but not the case for me. I didn’t truly begin to love food until I met Brandon. My daily menu consisted of chicken, pizza, burgers and fries. Sometimes I would order the occasional 2 soft tacos from the local Mexican restaurant. However, Brandon introduced me to the creamy sweet potato casserole with the crunchy brown sugar and pecan crust and the ding dong cake that has layers of moist chocolate cake with a white cream filling and topped with a milky sweet chocolate frosting. Doesn’t that make you just want to grab a fork and a big glass of milk?

With this new vision of the food world, I began to indulge in my passion for cooking. I started practicing new recipes on my family, Brandon, and his family on holidays. I learned not everything tastes as good as it looks on a picture and don’t just try any new recipe on a large group without getting previous feedback from other people.

It has been 9 years since that boy and girl met. 9 years of burnt dishes, lots of trial and errors, broken glasses and dishes, and some awesome recipes that we are wanting to share with y’all. The meal we are posting today comes from our love of The Pioneer Woman. When we saw Ree Drummond on The Food Network, we knew she was a fabulous cook. And, she proves it with her cornbread recipe.
20130911-204934.jpg
This picture is from Tuesday night. After two helpings, we ended up with one piece leftover that I finished off Wednesday night. The picture doesn’t do the cornbread any justice. It doesn’t let you feel the crusty outer layer resting on top of the buttery and fluffy bread center. For the recipe, click here. From experience, make sure you follow the directions exactly how it is written. Otherwise, you will have burnt or doughy cornbread. Brandon’s advice is to be careful when flipping the cornbread out of the skillet or you might pinch the sides.

One of our favorite pairings with the cornbread are canned veggies. And one of Brandon’s favorites is cornbread and cold milk. I know it’s not very creative or gourmet, but it’s something quick when you are in a hurry. So, Tuesday night I opened a can of green beans and a can of pinto beans, drained them, washed them, and placed them in a microwavable bowl. To the green beans, I added 1/4 cup water, 1 tsp. butter, and 1 Tbsp. Italian dressing. To the pintos, I added 1 Tbsp. butter and heated the bowls for 2 minutes each. And, don’t forget a dash of salt and pepper! 1 large slice of cornbread and 1 scoop of each of the beans on our shiny red square plates and we had created a 30 minute meatless meal for Tuesday that is quick and easy. It is nothing fancy, but sometimes southern comfort foods aren’t a masterpiece for the eyes, just the stomach.
20130911-210245.jpg

